300

Sheena and I watched this movie earlier in the week. I can honestly say that going into it I wasn’t expecting to like it. I knew that it was based off of a graphic novel by Frank Miller. The last movie based off of a graphic novel by him was Sin City, which I did not like at all (aside from the “look” of the film). I had decided that this film would also be one that was very well made, but other than that it would be lacking. Although the plot isn’t deep, nor the dialog superb, I really liked this movie. It was cool to learn about the way Spartans were raised, and how much they valued their army and strength. It was also just really cool. About halfway through the movie Sheena said something like, “This whole movie is fighting. Like…I’m going to come at you really fast and then stab you in slow motion. I’m going to come and you really fast and then punch you in slow motion.” This is a very true statement…but it sure was cool. All this to say, yes, the movie is pretty much just sweet battle scenes with some shady politics thrown in, but it was a good time and I’d recommend it.
9 out of 10.

c.

