Hot Fuzz

This film hasn’t been released in the states yet, but a co-worker of mine got an early copy, so Sheena and I sat down to watch it Tuesday night. I really, really enjoyed it. It was done by the same team who made Shaun of the Dead. Like SOTD was a bit of a spoof of zombie movies, Hot Fuzz is a mixture of all your favorite buddy cop movies. Although it wasn’t quite as funny as I thought it would be, it was much more action packed than I expected. The first half of the movie is kind of slow, with a few funny one-liners and story set-up. Then the murders start to happen. About two thirds of the way through the movie the action really picks up and is pretty much nonstop through the rest of the film. It was definitely not what I expected, but in a good way. And don’t get me wrong; there were definitely some really funny parts. One of my favorite quotes is a quick conversation between the two main characters during one of the big gun fight scenes:

Danny Butterman: Where’s the trolley boy?
Nicholas Angel: In the freezer.
Danny Butterman: Did you say anything like ‘cool it.’
Nicholas Angel: Umm no, not really.
Danny Butterman: Awww shame.
Nicholas Angel: Well you would have been proud of me before, when he attacked me in the hotel and I distracted him with the cuddly toy and I said, “Playtime’s over.” and hit him over the head with the plant pot.
Danny Butterman: Man, you’re off the [freakin’] chain!

I’d recommend seeing this movie. It’s a bit gory at times, and the language can be crude in a few small doses, but then again, it is a British movie. If you liked Shaun of the Dead, you’ll like this movie. If you didn’t see Shaun of the Dead, you should, and you’ll like this movie.

9 out of 10.

c.

