The Bridge

I’m not entirely sure why this movie was made. There isn’t a whole lot to it. It’s interesting, I guess, but it’s mainly just depressing. The whole movie is really beautiful shots of the Golden Gate Bridge, and stories, told by friends and family, of people who have ended their lives by jumping off of the bridge. Oh, and actual footage of these people jumping off the bridge. Seriously. Weird, right? The crew of this movie filmed the Golden Gate Bridge during daylight for all of 2004. They recorded most of the 24 people who jumped off of the bridge that year. I read that they prevented some people from jumping…but you’d think if they were watching the bridge all day everyday, they could have prevented more than that. I guess that would make this movie even worse, though, sadly. There was one story that I found interesting about a young man who jumped and survived. Other than that, the movie was just strange and depressing, and, honestly, kind of boring. If you want to hear people speculate as to why their loved one jumped off the bridge (and see the person they’re talking about actually jump), check this movie out. If that sounds depressing to you, and it should, I’d recommend watching something else.
5 out of 10.


Lost In Translation

I hadn’t seen this film since it first came out. To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of it the first time I saw it. It wasn’t that I didn’t think it was good, but it was one of those movies that so many people tell you that you HAVE to see it, that when you do, you’re a little let down (ex. Little Miss Sunshine). Last night Reid and I watched this, and I had little recollection of the movie, and I wasn’t expecting to be blown away. I really loved it. The fact that nothing really happens during this movie, and at the same time it’s such a good story is amazing. It’s just so beautiful, and simple, and funny, and great. I love Bill Murray. I want to hang out with Bill Murray. I picture him being a lot like his character in this movie in real life. If you haven’t seen this movie, you should. Twice. And laugh, ‘cause it’s funny.
9 out of 10.

c.

