Surf’s Up

I was very impressed with this animated film. It was created documentary-style, which I thought was clever and worked really well for this movie. There were some funny parts and some sentimental parts. For an animated film, it had a really good soundtrack. It seemed to me that the voices used for the characters were from stars who haven’t done much animation work, which was a good thing. It wasn’t your typical cartoon voices. All in all I thought it was a fun little movie and recommend it as a rental.
8 out of 10.


Thin

Last night Sheena and I watched this HBO documentary about women in the Renfrew Center struggling with anorexia. Needless to say, it was quite sad/gross/weird/infuriating. It was well done, and definitely shows what’s going on in these girl’s heads. At least as much as one could know from the outside. As much as I can’t understand how they can still think they’re fat when they are skin and bones, from watching this movie you can tell that it’s a disease, and that they truly need help. A very interesting documentary. Well worth a viewing.
8 out of 10.

c.

