NEW RATING SYSTEM: I’m moving to the grade school rating system.
(No +/-. I want to make this as easy as possible.)
A – Must see/will purchase.
B – Recommend seeing.
C – Possible rental.
D – Could’ve done without.
F – Don’t waste your time.


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Sheena, Reid, Ashley and I went to see this at midnight on opening night. It was packed. I guess that was cool. There were some really stupid guys behind us making really lame (trying to be funny) comments during that movie that I really could’ve done without. Overall, though, the opening night experience was fine. I was expecting more people to be dressed up, but I saw a few impressive costumes. I guess there isn’t really a whole lot to dress up as. Anywho…on with the review. I really, really enjoyed this movie. I really enjoy all the Harry Potter movies. Up until this one, I think they have definitely gotten better and better as the series moves along and the kids get older. I only say “up until this one” because I haven’t quite decided if I liked this one more than the Goblet of Fire. Whether it was better or not, it doesn’t really matter because I really enjoyed myself. Watching the DLP projection on the huge screen was beautiful. I don’t want to give anything away, and, honestly, it’s not like I have to even say this, but if you like the Harry Potter movies, you definitely have to see this one. Again, that’s obvious. There really isn’t a point to reviewing this. Everyone who should see this movie will see this movie. So why is this review so long?
A!


Evan Almighty

Sheena and I went to see this last Sunday with our church’s youth group. I liked it for the most part. It was a bit cheesy at times, but it was a pretty fun little movie. I think my favorite thing about the movie was that I felt like I got a glimpse at how Noah would have felt when everyone was laughing at him and calling him crazy. Other than that, though, it was just pretty alright. It was funny, but not as funny as I expected. It definitely wasn’t as good as Bruce Almighty. I’d probably just recommend this as a renter.
C


Fired

Fired is a documentary about, well, being fired. It was made by actress Annabelle Gurwitch after she was fired from a Woody Allen play. She pretty much just goes around and gets people to tell their stories of being fired. She then starts a “play” where famous people get up and tell their stories of being fired. Then I think she said she wrote a book. I can’t quite remember because it took me like three weeks to actually watch the whole thing, and it’s only 70 minutes long. There were some funny stories and stuff, but this film mostly just feels like she needed something to do and wanted to show everyone all the famous people she knows. It’s humorous and interesting at times, but for the most part it’s nothing special. Watch it if you want.
D

Seen anything worth watching lately?
c.

