Last week I decided to make a list of my favorite directors. The more I got into it, the more I realized I might should make it 10 different posts, and spend time talking about each one. Then I realized that no one would really care, so I went back to the simplified list – the director, the movies that make him one of my favorites, and any upcoming projects that I’m excited about. So, here you go… it’s not as exciting this way, but, again, would you really have cared to hear what I had to say about each?

My Top Ten (kind of in order, but not really…):

David Fincher:
Films I love him for: Se7en, The Game, Fight Club, Zodiac.
Future project I’m looking forward to: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

Christopher Nolan:
Films I love him for: Memento, Batman Begins, The Prestige.
Future project I’m looking forward to: The Dark Knight.

Bryan Singer:
Films I love him for: The Usual Suspects, X-Men, X2, Superman Returns.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Valkyrie, Superman: Man of Steel.

Wes Anderson:
Films I love him for: Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic, The Darjeeling Limited.
Future project I’m looking forward to: The Fantastic Mr. Fox.

The Coen Brothers:
Films I love them for: Raising Arizona, The Hudsucker Proxy, Fargo, The Big Lebowski, O Brother Where Art Thou.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Burn After Reading.

Spike Jonze:
Films I love him for: Being John Malkovich, Adaptation.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Where the Wild Things Are.

Christopher Guest:
Films I love him for: Waiting For Guffman, Best in Show, A Mighty Wind.

M. Night Shyamalan:
Films I love him for: The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, The Village, The Lady in the Water.
Future project I’m looking forward to: The Happening.

Tim Burton:
Films I love him for: Beetle Juice, Batman, Edward Scissorhands, Ed Wood, Big Fish.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Alice in Wonderland.

Steven Spielberg:
Films I love him for: Jaws, Indian Jones Trilogy, E.T., Empire of the Sun, Hook, Jurassic Park, Schindler’s List, Saving Private Ryan, Minority Report.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

Honorable Mentions:

Quentin Tarantino:
Films I love him for Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill Volumes 1 and 2.

Cameron Crowe:
Films I love him for: Almost Famous, Vanilla Sky.

Danny Boyle:
Films I love him for: Shallow Grave, Trainspotting, The Beach, 28 Days Later.

Todd Phillips:
Films I love him for: Road Trip, Old School, Starsky and Hutch.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Old School Dos.

Adam McKay:
Films I love him for: Anchorman, Talladega Nights.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Step Brothers.

Ridley Scott:
Films I love him for: Gladiator, Black Hawk Down, Matchstick Men, American Gangster.

Tony Scott:
Films I love him for: True Romance, Crimson Tide, Enemy of the State, Spy Game, Man on Fire, Deja Vu.

Marc Foster:
Films I love him for: Finding Neverland, Stranger Than Fiction.
Future project I’m looking forward to: Quantum of Solace (new James Bond).

c.

