Michael Clayton

Very, very unimpressive. There was nothing new about this movie. As I said while a group of us were walking out… “I could’ve written that.” And not in a “I’m a good writer” kind of way, but in a “I’ve seen that movie before with different actors in a different setting.” The beginning was just plain boring (and confusing), and the end, although not bad, was just very typical. Very typical. I have no idea how/why it was nominated for Best Picture. Crazy. Again, not terrible, but something you’ve probably seen before.
D (because of the hype)


Run Fat Boy Run

I really like Simon Pegg. I’m pretty sure I’ve liked everything he’s ever been in, that I’ve seen. That being said, this movie was pretty mediocre. There were definitely some funny parts, and some sentimental parts, but all-in-all it just wasn’t anything special. It’s worth a viewing, but only if you don’t expect to much from it. Luckily, I didn’t, and enjoyed the movie, even though I wasn’t super impressed. The cast is pretty great with the always entertaining Hank Azaria, the beautiful (but way too skinny) Thandie Newton (Crash, Pursuit of Happyness), and the little-known Dylan Moran (Shaun of the Dead), who is quite funny. I guess what I’m trying to say is, this one is worth checking out if you aren’t looking for anything too deep or thought-provoking, and are okay with something that’s just “nice.”
C

c.

