Salesman

This is another documentary that was on the top of most lists. It’s about four Bible salesman going door to door. It’s pretty much a true life Glengarry Glen Ross; Jerks tricking people into paying way too much money for something. It was pretty annoying. And actually kind of boring. It’s interesting that these guys let someone follow them around with a camera, the way they treat people and talk about them after they make sales. All-in-all I wasn’t real impressed. Not terrible, but not really recommended.
C


Man on Wire

I thought this documentary was great. Philippe Petit, the wire walker, is a great storyteller. The things he’s done, and the amount of preparation and risk and stealthiness that went into walking between the Twin Towers are all quite amazing. This is a movie that I think most people will enjoy and is definitely worth checking out.
A


American Teen

Althought entertaining, for the most part, this documentary seems more like an episode (I’d imagine) of The Hills. It seems to perfect to all be completely legit. There are a number of scenes that seem very real, but there are just as many scenes that seem to be quite scripted. It’s an interesting and entertaining film, and worth seeing, but I have a hard time believing that everything just played out like it did without a little help from the filmmakers. It may have been less exciting, but I think it would’ve been a better film had it been more real.
C


Seven Pounds

Without giving anything away, I’ll just say that I really enjoyed this movie. Of course, Will Smith is great. The story is unique and depressing and hopeful and the full gamut of emotions. It definitely bumps a few movies down on my favorite films of 2008. I recommend seeing this. You’ll like it.
A

c.

