Burn After Reading

Hm… I liked this movie, but didn’t love it. And I wanted to love it. The first half is pretty slow and boring. The movie as a whole is just sort of confusing because it doesn’t really make sense. That’s kind of the point, but it’s also kind of annoying. There are some really funny parts, and some really shocking parts, but all in all it just wasn’t what I’d expect from the Coen Brothers. I somewhat want to watch it again knowing what I’m getting into, because I might like it more that way. I probably won’t do that, though.
C


Blindness

I can’t say that I didn’t like this movie, but I also wouldn’t recommend it to many people. It’s an interesting premise, and is actually executed well, but it’s quite disturbing. It definitely kept me wondering what would happen next, but it was way too long. It felt like the filmmakers had a lot to say about society and stuff, and spent too much time trying to drive that point home instead of actually getting anywhere with the plot. Then, after it’d been way too long they were like… “crap, we have to end this thing at some point…” and did just that. That makes it sound terrible, but it wasn’t. It just wasn’t great.
C

c.

