Gran Torino

I don’t get it. Why is everyone saying this movie is so good? I will say that the plot is actually pretty good, and the ending is solid, but the execution is just plain terrible. The acting in this movie is beyond bad. I haven’t done any research on this, but other than Clint, and the guy who played the barber, I don’t think there is a professional actor in the film. And it shows. And that’s not a good thing. I really think this could have been a good movie, but it just wasn’t done well. And the way Clint talked about people, and the names he called them… I just have a hard time believing people are that over-the-top ridiculous. Needless to say, the dialog at times is quite laughable it’s so bad (and racist). At one point Sheena even said, “I didn’t know this movie was a comedy.” Yeah. I also didn’t like that they felt they had to explain what Clint’s character did at the end. I’m not stupid, I know why he did what he did.
D


Choke

I wanted to see this movie because it was written by the guy who wrote Fight Club, and that’s one of my favorite movies. It also stars Sam Rockwell, whom I’m a fan of. The movie, though, not so much. I will say that I was never bored, and was even somewhat entertained, but the plot and content on the whole just really didn’t do it for me. I might recommend this to a small handful of people, but most people I’d just tell to stay away.
C

c.

