I haven’t watched any movies this week, but I did finish the second season of one of my favorite new(ish) shows.


Breaking Bad

I first talked about this show after watching the pilot in January of last year. Since then, the show has changed a lot. I loved it then. I love it now. If you don’t know anything about it, let me give a quick synopsis: Walter (Bryan Cranston) is a chemistry teacher who finds out he has cancer. Having a disabled teenage son, and a newly pregnant wife, he realizes he has nothing to leave his family. He seeks out an old screw up, druggie ex-student, and builds a meth lab to make money to leave his family. You can imagine where we go from there. It’s pretty much strayed from the dark comedy of the first few episodes of the first season (still funny moments here and there), but it’s no less awesome. This season has been full of close calls, shootouts and stressfulness at home. It’s an intense show with a plethora of moral dilemmas, and I hope it keeps coming back (it has been renewed for a third season – which is good, because they really left me hanging!). If you haven’t seen it, season one is out on dvd, and if it sounds the least bit intriguing to you, I’d check it out. It’s not for all, but it’s sure to be a favorite for some.
A

c.

