JCVD

This movie was unbelievably awesome. I’m not a huge JC fan, and I don’t think you have to be to enjoy this movie. Actually, it might be better if you aren’t. I dunno. Anywho… just as a little background, in the movie JC plays himself, a washed up actor who’s fighting for custody of his daughter in a divorce case, and who doesn’t seem to have any money to pay his lawyer. It’s a very unique story wrapped up in a cops/robbers/hostage movie. Loved it.
A


State of Play

I started watching this movie thinking I was about to watch Body of Lies (below). I’d wanted to see both, but I just got the titles mixed up. Even thought it wasn’t what I was expecting, I really enjoyed this movie. At it’s core the movie is about a journalist who’s trying to figure out what’s going on with a political scandal, but there’s a lot more to it than that. There were a few cheesy/badly written parts, but for the most part it was a very interesting movie, and it kept me guessing. One worth checking out.
B


Body of Lies

I decided to watch this movie after I finished State of Play, since it was what I was expecting to watch in the first place. Another Russell Crowe movie, but this time with Leonardo DiCaprio instead of Rachel McAdams (who is better looking than Leo). This one was definitely more action-packed, but I don’t think I liked it as much. It was pretty much about how there are guys in DC calling the shots for guys in the field actually doing all the dirty work. CIA-style. It was a fun movie, but in the end it didn’t seem like much was accomplished. Maybe that was the point. Worth checking out.
B


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

I don’t have a whole lot to say about this. I like the Harry Potter movies. They are good movies. I’m not a super fan, though, so I’m always a little lost when it comes to some of the characters and whatnot, since I haven’t seen or mentioned anything Harry Potter since I saw the film before. That being said, once this movie got rolling, it was good stuff just like all of them. If you watch these movies, you’ll watch this one. If you don’t, you won’t.
B


Twilight

Sheena and I decided to break down and check out this movie last night. Neither of us have read the books (and never will – speaking for myself), but it’s such a craze that we just decided why not. I have to admit that it was definitely better than I expected. That doesn’t mean it was amazing or anything. I did actually like some aspects of the story, as cheesy and sappy as it was played out. The idea of the family that the main guy is a part of was pretty cool. I admit, I’ll watch the rest of this series (after they’re on DVD) to see what happens. The soundtrack was great in a “why in the world would [artist here] agree to put a song on the Twilight soundtrack” way. Worth checking out if you haven’t and can’t think of anything else you’d rather see.
C

c.

