Avatar

As much as it surprises me to say this, Avatar was amazing. I went into this movie thinking I wouldn’t like it at all, but I was mesmerized. We saw it at the Alamo Draft House, and I had a pizza sitting in front of me, and I could barely take my eyes off the screen to eat. The story wasn’t 100% original or anything, but who cares? Visually, it might have been the coolest movie I’ve ever seen, and the plot definitely kept me interested. I see what all the fuss is about, and I agree.
A


The Invention of Lying

I was really let down by this one. I’m a big Ricky Gervais fan and usually like anything he does, but this was pretty much terrible. The writing was crap and the execution wasn’t much better. As Sheena pointed out, it wasn’t like people were just telling the truth, it was like they were saying everything they thought out loud. Those aren’t the same thing. There were a few laugh-out-loud moments, but for the most part this was not worth the time. Skip it.
D


Couples Retreat

Not particularly awesome, but not too bad. There were quite a few laughable moments, and the message at the end is nice. If you like Vince Vaughn playing his typical self, which I usually do, you’ll laugh. Again, nothing special, but not a total waste.
C


9

I really liked this animated movie. It’s pretty short and to the point, which is a nice change from most of the stuff released these days. I really like the short that the movie is based on, and I think it translated nice to the big screen. The voices worked and the animation itself was beautiful. This one’s worth checking out.
A


Fantastic Mr. Fox

I love Wes Anderson, so if this movie was crap, I didn’t notice. But it wasn’t crap. It was awesome. The animation was very original and the story was great. And it was super funny. I’m not saying Wes can do no wrong, but Wes can do no wrong.
A


Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

This movie was quite entertaining. The voices were pretty great and the way they made a whole movie out of such a short book worked well. It was quite funny, too. Definitely worth checking out.
B

c.

