Precious

First, let me say that I almost didn’t see this movie just because the official title is “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” and that’s just dumb. I mean, really dumb. It’s going to be super annoying during the Oscars, too, when everyone has to say that full (bull crap) title every time they mention it. Hello, a huge number of movies are based on books, and no one else feels like they have to put that in the title. Oh yeah, a review… Of course, going into this movie, I knew it was going to be depressing, but I think this was maybe just too much. I’m not quite sure why this story needed to be told. Even in the end I didn’t feel like there was really a good moment. It was just like… things aren’t AS crappy as they used to be. Still crappy, though. Yes, the main character was making strides to better her life, but I still just felt sorry for her and didn’t know that she’d really make it in world. I will say that the performances were excellent, but the production of the movie itself wasn’t very good. Having seen this, I’ve now seen all ten movies nominated for best picture, and I have to say that this is my least favorite. It’s not really a movie I’d recommend. I know not all movies have to have happy endings or anything, but the stuff you have to sit through during this movie is not entertainment in the slightest. There is one girl in the movie that I guess is the comic relief (although it doesn’t help the mood), and I did think she was hilarious and laughed out loud quite a few times. But laughing at all during this movie made me feel a little awkward.
C (Simply for the acting)


The Book of Eli

I really, really enjoyed this movie. I really can’t say too much about it without giving stuff away, but it has a very cool plot with some great moments and a lot of great meaning. Also, the acting was superb by everyone. I’m pretty sure this would bump something off of my top 5 post-apocalyptic movies list, but I’d like to see it one more time to make up my mind. This is definitely one to check out. It’s not by any means perfect, but it’s a lot of fun. It’s a bit gory at times, but nothing too over-the-top. I’m actually really looking forward to seeing this one again, to look for clues on some stuff. Check it out!
A

c.

