Crazy Heart

I had to knock this one out before the Oscars, just to make sure it didn’t need to win for best song. It doesn’t. It was a good movie, though. My main complaint is that it’s just really slow, but given the subject matter, I don’t know how it couldn’t be. I thought everyone did an excellent job, acting-wise. Jeff Bridges was outstanding, and Maggie Gyllenhaal was pretty great. The story is kinda like Walk the Line, but not based on real people, and a little less dysfunctional. It’s a pretty predictable plot with a few small twists and turns. Even though I don’t think the song nominated should win for best song, I do think the music was excellent (and I’m not a country fan) and a couple of the other songs in the movie were way better than the one that’s nominated. Definitely worth seeing, but didn’t blow me away.
B

c.

