Iron Man 2

Iron Man was one of my favorite movies of 2008. I didn’t really have any doubt that the sequel would be good, but I’d heard a couple of unsatisfactory early reviews. I don’t know what those people didn’t like, but I thought the movie was great. Micky Rourke was an excellent villain, and Robert Downey, Jr. continues to be one of my favorite actors at the moment. I always love Sam Rockwell and thought he was great at the part he played. I didn’t really care for Scarlett Johansson, or her character. She just seemed kind of pointless, like they just wanted a sexy girl in the movie who could kick some butt. Her one big fight scene was entertaining enough, but that didn’t really justify her being in the movie. Whatever. I thought the movie was excellent and don’t know why anyone who liked the first one wouldn’t like the second.
A


The Slammin’ Salmon

This is the newest movie by Broken Lizard. I’m a big fan of Super Troopers and BeerFest. This is nowhere near as funny as those movies, but it’s also not a dud, either. There are some funny moments, and the plot is decent enough. It’s actually pretty good for a restaurant comedy. Most of the ones I’ve seen have been terrible. If you like their other stuff, it’s worth checking out.
C


The Losers

The Losers is pretty much a new version of the A-Team. I’m not complaining, just making an observation. Although I do think the new A-Team movie will be much better than this. It was a pretty entertaining film, but with a tons of cliches and bad jokes. It’s somewhat reminiscent of an Ocean’s movie, with more modern graphics and animation. All-in-all, not a waste of time, just nothing real unique.
C


The Soloist

Iron Man took some time off from saving the world and decided to save a homeless guy. I can’t believe I hadn’t seen this movie before now. It was good. I liked it. I liked it even more after watching this 60 Minutes interview with the actual guys depicted in the movie. It’s a happy/sad story that’s definitely worth checking out.
B

c.

